You are here:  Home  >  Calendar >  2018 Election Information

2018 Election Information

By   /  October 8, 2018  /  No Comments


The Districts for Voting this November:

  • The City of Vista has changed the way city council representatives are elected and has switched from an at-large election to a district-based election system.
  • Beginning in 2018, the City’s new by-district election system divides the city into four geographic sections.
  • Voters in each district select one council representative who also lives in that district.
  • The mayor will continue to be elected at-large by the voters of Vista.

How will by-district elections work?

The district elections will be phased in beginning November 2018, when representatives from Council Districts 1 and 4 will be elected. Two years later, in 2020, council members from Districts 2 and 3 will be on the ballot. To be elected, a candidate must live within the boundary of the district that they seek to represent. Voters will only vote for the City Council seats up for election in their specific district. All four current Council Members are serving as at-large council members until the end of their current terms. They will then be eligible to run for re-election in the district in which they live.

  • District 1: John Aguilera, November, 2018
  • District 2: Joe Green, November, 2020
  • District 3: Amanda Young Rigby, November, 2020
  • District 4: John Franklin, November, 2018

On Friday we will publish information on the 5th district supervisors and

2018 Local Ballot Measures



Do you want more news like this? We're supported by our subscribers and readers!

  • Published: 8 months ago on October 8, 2018
  • By:
  • Last Modified: October 8, 2018 @ 9:44 pm
  • Filed Under: Local

About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might also like...

OhmConnect’s Second Annual MEGA Summer Program

Read More →